XXth century jubilees in Germany

In the XXth century, Luther’s jubilees often took on a patriotic or a political interpretation.

During the First world War

  • The battle of the Somme, 1st july to 18 november 1916 © Wikimedia Commons

1917: The 4th centenary of the date when Luther nailed his theses on the chapel door in Wittenberg was celebrated in the fourth year of the First World War. Luther was seen as a true German – his trust in God and unswerving determination to succeed in conflict were seen as an example for his fellow countrymen.

The Nazi regime

  • Martin Niemöller (1892-1984) © Wikimedia Commons
  • Professor Karl Barth © S.H.P.F.

1933: Luther’s 450th anniversary was celebrated in Germany. Although some pastors disagreed violently, the Deutsche Christen (German Christians) distorted his message to make it conform to the German Fuhrer’s slogan: Mit Luther, für Glaube und Rasse (with Luther and Hitler, for religion and race). However the Confessing Church in opposition to Hitler also took Luther as a model and forerunner of independentProtestant Churches in Germany.

The Luther year of 1983

The success of the Luther Year in 1983, for his 500th anniversary, was not only due to the large number of commemorations but also to the political situation in Germany at the time: it was divided between the RFA and the RDA in the twilight years of the communist regime which held sway in Eastern Europe. The historians of East Germany saw in Luther their own precursor of a modern revolution. This view contributed indirectly to the reunification of Germany as Luther was part of their common heritage.

 

Author: D'après Marianne Carbonnier-Burkard

Bibliography

  • Documents

    Associated notes

    • The First World War

      The « sacred union » brought together all strands of Protestantism. Should the war not be short ? But the slaughter resulted in cruel deception, which many Christians perceived as failure, but would...
    • Dietrich Bonhœffer (1906-1945)

      Dietrich Bonhœffer was a protestant German pastor and theologian, and also the co-founder of the confessing Church. He was opposed to the growing Nazi influence on protestant German churches. He...
    • Karl Barth (1886-1968), a detailed biography

      The strictness and deep originality of the theologian’s work ensured its rapid spread throughout Protestantism and among catholic theologians, and caused intense debates and long-lasting polemics.
    • French Jubilees of the Reformation

      In France commemorations of the Reformation only really began in the XIXth century. They celebrated mostly French Protestant historical events so as not to attract too much attention from the...
    • Jubilees in Germany from 1630 to 1717

      From 1630 onwards, jubilees were on a smaller scale because of the Thirty Years War which held sway in Germany at the time. The 1717 jubilee was on the same...

    Associated tours

Les jubilés du XXe siècle
en Allemagne

Au XXe siècle, les jubilés de Luther ont le plus souvent été récupérés à des fins patriotiques ou politiques.

Pendant la première guerre mondiale

  • Bataille de la Somme du 1er juillet au 18 novembre 1916
    Bataille de la Somme du 1er juillet au 18 novembre 1916 © Wikimedia Commons

1917 : le 4e centenaire de l’affichage des thèses de Luther, à l’automne, tombe en pleine guerre mondiale, la quatrième année de la guerre. L’Allemand Luther, sa confiance en Dieu et sa détermination inflexible au combat sont donnés en exemple aux Allemands.

Sous le nazisme

  • Martin Niemöller (1892-1984)
    Martin Niemöller (1892-1984) © Wikimedia Commons
  • Professeur Karl Barth
    Professeur Karl Barth © S.H.P.F.

1933 : le 450e anniversaire de Luther est fêté en Allemagne. Malgré l’opposition très vive de certains pasteurs, les Deutsche Christen (Chrétiens allemands) font du réformateur le messager du Führer allemand, avec ce slogan : „Mit Luther und Hitler, für Glaube und Rasse“ (avec Luther et Hitler, pour la religion et la race). Cependant l’Église confessante, qui s’oppose à Hitler, revendique aussi Luther, en réclamant l’autonomie des Églises protestantes.

L'année Luther en 1983

Le succès de l’année Luther en 1983 en Allemagne, pour son 500e anniversaire, n’a pas seulement tenu au phénomène général de déploiement des commémorations, mais aussi au facteur politique de l’Allemagne divisée entre la RFA et la RDA, au crépuscule du monde communiste en Europe de l’Est. La réévaluation du rôle de Luther par des historiens de la RDA — présenté comme précurseur allemand (de l’Est) des révolutions modernes — a indirectement contribué à la réunification de l’Allemagne autour du héros commun.

 

Auteur : D'après Marianne Carbonnier-Burkard

Bibliographie

  • Documents

Notices associées

  • Dietrich Bonhœffer (1906-1945)

    Dietrich Bonhœffer, pasteur et théologien protestant allemand, est l’un des fondateurs de l’Église confessante, qui s’opposa à l’influence nazie qui se développait fortement dans les églises protestantes allemandes. Il meurt...
  • Les jubilés de 1630 à 1717 en Allemagne

    À partir de 1630, les jubilés sont plus discrets à cause de la guerre de Trente Ans qui ravage les États allemands. Le jubilé de 1717 suit le modèle de...
  • Les jubilés réformés français

    Les commémorations de la Réforme en France n’ont vu le jour qu’au XIXe siècle. Elles restent discrètes et concernent surtout des événements relatifs à l’histoire des protestants en France.
  • Les protestants et la première guerre mondiale

    L’  « Union sacrée » réunit toutes les familles protestantes : l’Allemagne était la coupable et la guerre devait être courte. Mais l’hécatombe apporte un cruel démenti, que beaucoup de chrétiens ont ressenti...
  • Karl Barth (1886-1968), biographie détaillée

    Par sa rigueur et sa profonde originalité, l’œuvre du théologien Karl Barth a eu un grand rayonnement dans tout le protestantisme et chez les théologiens catholiques, y compris par les...

Parcours associés