François-Arnail, marquis
of Jaucourt, (1757-1852)

A prominent dignitary, freemason and patron of letters

  • Marquis A.F. de Jaucourt © S.H.P.F.

The de Jaucourt family is descended from Duplessis-Mornay on the women’s side. Its members did not all emigrate ; those who stayed in France were converted to Roman Catholicism, while personally remaining strongly inclined towards Protestantism. The chevalier de Jaucourt (1704-1780), François’ great-uncle, was, along with Diderot, the main author of the last volumes of the Encyclopaedia.

François-Arnail was born before the Edict of Toleration ; he was baptized in the Roman Catholic faith. At the time of the French Revolution, he was a colonel in the dragoons of Condé. He was elected deputy (député) at the Assembly (« feuillant »), and he defended King Louis XVI. He was imprisoned after August 10, 1792, but he escaped to Switzerland with the help of the Staëls. He came back after the 18 Brumaire and became a member of the Tribunat where he spoke in favour of the Concordat (he had recovered his Protestant identity). Under the Empire he was elected to the Senate and after escorting King Joseph to Naples he was made Count. In 1814, he voted in favour of the impeachment of Napoleon and he was appointed member of the provisional government. During the Cent-Jours, he remained loyal to Louis XVIII ; under the Restoration, he was Minister for the Navy for a few months and had an influential, peacemaking role during the Terreur Blanche. Under Charles X he was one of the seven protestant peers in France.

Although not a churchgoer at the time, from 1803 on he was a member to the Paris Consistory. He chaired the Société biblique protestante de Paris (Protestant Bible Society of Paris) at its foundation in 1818, and the Société pour l’encouragement de l’instruction primaire parmi les protestants de France (Society for the encouragement of primary education among French protestants) established in 1829. He was a freemason and member of the Comité directeur of the Grand Orient. Pédézert wrote of him : « he had all the graciousness and the flexibility of a Statesman, and owed it to his ancestors to leave an unbelieving world as a believer » (il avait toutes les elegances et les souplesses d’un home d’Etat, et dut à ses ancêtres de sortir croyant d’un monde incrédule).

Associated notes

  • The Restoration (1814-1830)

    The Constitution of 1814 had its ambiguities ; on the one hand, it guaranteed State protection of all denominations, yet it also declared Roman Catholicism to be « the State religion ». The...
  • Bible Societies

    The Reformation required that every believer should be capable of reading the Bible. One of the main concerns of the leaders of re-established the Protestant Church was to make this...
  • Protestant education

    The history nineteenth century education is known for the profound changes in its government organization ; and these changes affected the influence it had. Fundamental laws went into effect and new...
  • Pierre-Antoine Labouchère (1807-1873)

    Labouchère was descended from a protestant family who emigrated to the Netherlands. His loyalty to the faith of his ancestors prompted him to devote many of his paintings to the...
  • Charles Mallet (1815-1902)

    Charles Mallet is first an associate, then the chairman of the Protestant bank Mallet Frères & Cie which plays a major role in industrial development both in France and abroad...
  • Napoléon Peyrat (1809–1881)

    Napoléon Peyrat came from the Protestant part of the Ariège; he wrote a history about this area in both French and Southern French dialect (‘langue d’oc’) in which he described...
  • Elisée Reclus (1830-1905)

    Elisée Reclus devoted all his energy to the exploration of the planet and published books which extolled its wonderful qualities. He is also known for his defense of the Anarchist...
  • Eugène Réveillaud (1851-1935)

Associated tours

  • Protestant education since the Revolution

    After the French Revolution, a public education system was gradually established with the high schools and Grandes Ecoles. Protestants participated widely in the major school and university reforms of the...

François-Arnail, marquis
de Jaucourt, (1757-1852)

Un haut dignitaire, franc-maçon et mécène

  • Marquis A.F. de Jaucourt
    Marquis A.F. de Jaucourt © S.H.P.F.

La famille des Jaucourt descend par les femmes de Duplessis-Mornay. Ses membres n’ayant pas tous émigré, ceux qui sont restés se sont convertis au catholicisme, tout en gardant une fidélité intérieure à la Réforme. Le chevalier de Jaucourt (1704-1780), grand-oncle de François, fut avec Diderot le principal rédacteur des derniers volumes de l’Encyclopédie.

François-Arnail, né avant l’édit de tolérance, fut baptisé catholique. À la Révolution il était colonel des dragons de Condé. Député à l’Assemblée (« feuillant »), il fut l’un des défenseurs du roi. Emprisonné après le 10 août 1792, il put s’évader en Suisse grâce aux Staël. Rentré après le 18 brumaire, il devint membre du Tribunat, où il intervint en faveur du Concordat (ayant retrouvé son identité protestante). Sous l’Empire, il est sénateur, puis après avoir accompagné le roi Joseph à Naples, comte. En 1814 il vote la déchéance de Napoléon, et il est nommé membre du gouvernement provisoire. Resté fidèle à Louis XVIII pendant les Cent Jours, il est, sous la Restauration, quelques mois ministre de la Marine, et joue un rôle pacificateur pendant la Terreur Blanche. Sous Charles X, il est l’un des sept protestants Pairs de France.

Bien que peu pratiquant à l’époque, dès 1803, il est membre du Consistoire de Paris. Par la suite il devint le président de la Société biblique protestante de Paris (dès la fondation de celle-ci en 1818) et celui de la Société pour l’encouragement de l’instruction primaire parmi les protestants de France créée en 1829. Il faut noter qu’il était aussi franc maçon, membre du comité directeur du Grand-Orient. « Il avait, écrit Pédézert, toutes les élégances et les souplesses d’un homme d’État, et dut à ses ancêtres de sortir croyant d’un monde incrédule ».

Notices associées

  • Au début de la Restauration (1814-1830), la Terreur blanche

    La Constitution de 1814 est ambiguë, assurant d’une part la protection de l’État à toutes les confessions, mais déclarant d’autre part le catholicisme « religion d’État ». La Terreur blanche de 1815...
  • Sociétés bibliques

    Que chaque fidèle puisse lire la Bible est l’une des exigences fortes de la Réforme. Permettre cette lecture fut donc l’une des premières préoccupations des responsables du culte protestant désormais...
  • L'enseignement protestant

    L’histoire de l’enseignement au XIXe siècle est marquée par de profonds changements dans son organisation par l’État et son rayonnement. Des lois fondamentales sont adoptées et de nouvelles pédagogies sont mises...
  • Pierre-Antoine Labouchère (1807-1873)

    Descendant d’une famille protestante émigrée en Hollande, sa fidélité à la foi de ses ancêtres le conduit à consacrer une grande partie de son œuvre picturale à l’histoire du protestantisme...
  • Charles Mallet (1815-1902)

    Charles Mallet est associé puis chef de la banque protestante Mallet Frères et Cie qui exerce dans la seconde partie du XIXe siècle un rôle important dans l’équipement industriel en...
  • Napoléon Peyrat (1809-1881)

    Napoléon Peyrat est un « enfant » de l’Ariège protestante dont il a retracé, en français ou en langue d’Oc, l’histoire, les traditions, la vitalité. Ses travaux, sur le protestantisme français au...
  • Élisée Reclus (1830-1905)

    Élisée Reclus voue son existence à l’exploration de la planète et à la publication de livres pour la magnifier. Il est également connu pour sa défense de l’idéal anarchiste.
  • Eugène Réveillaud (1851-1935)

Parcours associés