Protestantism in the XXth century

The law of 9th December 1905 separating the Churches from the State guaranteed the freedom of public worship for the Reformed Church and a legal framework. Hardly surprisingly, most Protestants welcomed this law.

It did not concern Alsace and the Moselle, which had become part of the German empire in 1871.


The Protestant Federation of France was recognized by the public authorities. It was set up in 1905 and represented most of the Protestant Churches.  The Unions of member Churches all agreed on the following affirmations of faith:

  • Glory to God alone
  •  Justification by Grace alone
  • Justification by Scripture alone
  • The Universal Priesthood
  • Faith above all else
  • The constant need for Reform

In 1938 the Reformed Churches were assembled into one body: The Reformed Church of France and the Union of Independent Evangelical Churches became another body: the National Union of Protestant Evangelical Reformed Churches. Protestantism today consists of a great variety of Churches, which fall into four main categories:

  • The Reformed Churches
  • The Lutheran Churches
  • The Evangelical Churches
  • The Pentecostal Churches.

Begin the tour

Begin the tour