Provincial (local) synods

Delegates of all provincial churches meet once a year, constituting 16 provincial synods. They debate matters common to these churches and decide on matters of church discipline; they inspect students in divinity; they are responsible for vacant parishes and for the upkeep of theological faculties; they draw up, for the king’s attention, lists of grievances concerning breaches of the Edict.